About The Chamber

Tubbercurry Chamber of Commerce 2017

  1. President: Geraldine Brennan
  2. Vice President:
  3. Secretary: Louise Kilbane
  4. Treasurer:

The chamber of commerce in Tubbercurry is a voluntary organisation.

 Louise Kilbane speech at 2016 AGM:

Good evening, firstly I would like to welcome you all to our brand new centre, An Chroí South Sligo Enterprise Centre, this project has been talked about for 25 years and it just so happened the funding became available as I took office in the Chamber. I should start by thanking Romald Mullarkey who had the foresight to begin this project and who made the initial contact with the council to look at receiving funding for the area.

I started my tenure as President stating last year that as a town which has fallen down and has been kicked one thing we never lost was our community spirit. I stated that we needed to put the past behind us and start to fight back. This we have done and in the last 6 months we have managed to spend over €200, 000 in the area on revamping the Enterprise Centre, Relaunching the website, providing the new Pop-Up tents for the Old Fair Day and local groups, providing Training Courses to businesses and community groups and the new Swift Way beside Mary Jacks is a lovely addition to the town, with the footfall counters in place which will give us the information we need to secure future funding.  The money which was spent on the project over 75% went to local businesses in the South Sligo Area.

I want to personally thank all those who have worked tirelessly on this project with me over the last year, there have been many, many, many meetings and hours put into the REDZ project people who have worked tirelessly to bring the project to fruition and those of you thank you However there are two people I want to mention in particular, Ray O’Grady of Sligo County Council who has worked alongside us to ensure the project was a success and who has negotiated on our behalf throughout the project with contractors and ensured it was completed in a  timely manner. The other person I want to personally name out is my Vice-President Geraldine Brennan, Geraldine has been a rock of support to me over the last year and I can honestly say I would not have gotten through it all without her, Geraldine has also managed to secure for the town three training courses run the MSLETB, these are in Construction, Stone masonry and now Horticulture, this is a major boost for the local area, congratulations Geraldine and well done.

I am going to give you a quick run through on the last year, over the last year I assisted in launching the 30th Old Fair Day – tomorrow night is the 31st Old Fair Day Launch which I will also attend. Summer School who this year will celebrate their 30th Year. Town Twinning I was delighted to welcome our French Friends here late last year for the signing of the Charter between our two towns. I have also attend many local events including Launch of Local Area Implementation Plan, Sligo Food Trail, Sligo Chamber of Commerce Gala. But to mention a few:

I have lost count on the number of meetings which I have attend for the REDZ project but one of the major events I was able to welcome Minister Ann Phelan to the town to show her our project and to urge her to continue to ensure her department supports Rural areas.

I even managed to make a TV debut on Prime-Time election specials. I have given countless radio and newspaper interviews.

This has been a tough year but we are starting to see the benefits of work.

I am also delighted to inform you that through our collaboration with other Businesses, I spoke with local Joann Hosey Regional Operations and Change Manager at Bank of Ireland, who has informed me that above the Bank OF Ireland here in Tubbercurry 15 jobs are being created, Joann has said the staff will be moving in the week of the 27th of June, they will be working on regulatory projects for the BOI which will be shared across the country. Tubbercurry was chosen for its good location in the North-west and I’m sure with some help from Joann, she sold her home town as the perfect location. This is a great boost for us and one in which I’m sure will only help the town.

As I stated last year I said I hope to see job creation over the next two years this is an area which I feel we have started to achieve on, but again I am asking people to come forward and help out in whatever way they can, to support local and to promote local. We have started the buzz so lets keep it going this year we celebrate 25 years as a Chamber in Tubbercurry, towards the end of the year we will be having a Gala evening to celebrate this and to celebrate our local community. Let us continue to shout from the rooftops and share our hidden gem that is Tubbercurry and South Sligo.

Finally I want to remind you all that next week we will officially launch the Enterprise Centre here on Friday at 4.00pm by Minister Heather Humphry’s she is the Minister for Arts, Heritage and the Gaeltacht.

I am looking forward to the next year ahead. Thank You.”


Show Comments